> Home Page > About > Celebration of Champions > The Rob George Award

The Rob George Award

The Rob George Award has been added to our framework to honour the late Rob George - Rob George was a valued long term member of the Triathlon Australia technical program having joined in 2004. All nominees are received from the State and Territory Associations and reviewed by the Triathlon Australia Awards Committee. 


Shane Burnett - Triathlon Western Australia

Shane has been part of the Senior Technical Team at Ironman events in various leadership roles, including Technical Delegate. He has also conducted level 1 courses, as well as attending senior courses to advance his skills. Shane has worked very closely with Race Director to ensure best outcomes for all and has self-funded to numerous events around the country to advance his skills.

Kelly Bennett-Allan – Triathlon Queensland

Kelly is well known for her clear and open communication to race directors/LOC/technical official team and provides assessments for new technical officials, providing opportunities for a hands-on learning experience. She provides a positive team environment by ensuring officials are supported in their roles, providing extra resources or supplies where necessary.

Andy McGuire - Triathlon Victoria

Has taken a leadership role in the Triathlon Victoria Technical Committee and provided leadership through senior technical roles, welcoming new LTO officials. Andy has become Triathlon Victoria’s most experienced for Paratriathlon, including design of pre-transition and transition.

THE Rob George AWARD recipients

  • 2017 - Kelly Bennett-Allan - QLD
  • 2017 - Shane Burnett - WA
  • 2017 - Andrew McGuire - VIC
  • 2016 - Cathy Hoare - WA
  • 2016 - Jenny Hosking - VIC
  • 2016 - Mike Allan - QLD
  • 2016 - Sarah McGuire - NSW
  • 2015 - Brian Hinton - VIC
  • 2015 - David Wilkinson - SA
  • 2014 - Suzie Bower - TAS
  • 2014 - Sally Ham - VIC