Follow us on: facebook icon twitter_icon Instagram you tube icon

 > Home Page > Elite > Elite Medal History

Elite Medal History

Australia has achieved incomparable international success in triathlon over the years, since its inclusion into the Olympic program at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

australians at the Olympic Games

The following athletes have represented Triathlon Australia in the Olympic Games since Triathlon's inclusion in the Olympics in Sydney, 2000.

  MEN   WOMEN   
  Name Place  Name  Place 
2016, Rio de Janeiro Aaron Royle 9th Emma Moffatt 6th
  Ryan Bailie 10th Erin Densham 12th
  Ryan Fisher 24th Ashleigh Gentle 26th
2012, London Courtney Atkinson  18th Erin Densham 3rd
  Brad Kahlefeldt 32nd Emma Jackson 8th
  Brendan Sexton 35th Emma Moffatt DNF
2008, Beijing Courtney Atkinson  11th Emma Snowsill  1st
  Brad Kahlefeldt  16th Emma Moffatt  3rd
      Erin Densham  23rd
2004, Athens  Greg Bennett   4th Loretta Harrop 2nd
  Simon Thompson  10th Rina Hill 33rd
  Peter Robertson  24th Maxine Seear DNF
2000, Sydney  Miles Stewart  6th Michellie Jones  2nd
  Craig Walton 27th Loretta Harrop  5th
  Peter Robertson  34th Nicole Hackett  9th


australians at the  Youth Olympic Games


australians at the Commonwealth Games

The following athletes have represented Triathlon Australia in the Commonwealth Games since Triathlon's inclusion in the Games in Manchester, 2002.

  MEN   WOMEN   
  Name Place  Name  Place 
 2018, Gold Coast
 Jake Birtwhistle
 2nd  Ashleigh Gentle
   Matthew Hauser
 Gillian Backhouse
   Luke Willian
 Charlotte McShane
   Mixed Team Relay
2014, Glasgow  Ryan Bailie 5th Emma Jackson  5th
  Aaron Royle 8th Emma Moffatt  7th
  Dan Wilson  9th Ashleigh Gentle  9th
  Mixed team relay 3rd    
2006, Melbourne Brad Kahlefeldt 1st Emma Snowsill 1st
  Peter Robertson 3rd Annabel Luxford 5th
  Simon Thompson 11th Felicity Abram 14th
2002, Manchester  Miles Stewart 2nd Nicole Hackett 3rd
  Chris McCormack 5th Michellie Jones 6th
  Peter Robertson 9th Loretta Harrop DNF


1990 Australian Commonwealth Games Demonstration Triathlon Team, Auckland, NZL

Brad Beven  2nd Liz Hepple 4th
Greg Welch 3rd Michellie Jones 5th
Troy Fidler 4th Louise Bonham 6th
Simon Skillicorn 7th Sue Turner 7th
Matt Koorey 8th Loretta Garrett 10th
Chipmunk Frazer 11th Deanna Blegg 11th
Shane Johnson 14th Bianca Van Woesik 14th
Anthony Mckeon 16th Erica Wilkinson
Stephen Foster 21st Melinda Mentha 20th
Gerard Donnelly 22nd Carol Pickard 21st
Tony Unicomb 23rd Maureen Cummings 22nd
Mick Maroney   Fiona Wood 28th



ITU Triathlon (Olympic Distance) World Championships

  MEN   WOMEN   
  Name Place  Name  Place 
1990 Greg Welch  1st Natalya Orchard (Jnr)  2nd
  Brad Bevan  2nd    
  Steven Foster 3rd    
1991 Miles Stewart  1st Michellie Jones  3rd
  Ben Bright (Jnr)   3rd Alex Laws (Jnr)  2nd
    Helena Edmonston (Jnr) 3rd 
1992     Michellie Jones  1st
1993     Michellie Jones  1st
1994 Brad Bevan   2nd Emma Carney  1st
  Ben Bright (Jnr)  1st Clare Carney (Jnr) 1st
1995 Brad Bevan   2nd Jackie Gallagher  2nd
  Chris Hill (Jnr)  1st Belinda Cheney (Jnr)  3rd
  Craig Walton (Jnr)  2nd    
1996 Trent Chapman (Jnr)  3rd Jackie Gallagher  1st
      Emma Carney  2nd
      Joanne King (Jnr)  1st
1997 Chris McCormack  1st Emma Carney  1st
      Jackie Gallagher  2nd
      Michellie Jones  3rd
      Nicole Hackett (Jnr)  1st
      Beth Thomson (Jnr)  2nd
      Melanie Mitchell (Jnr)  3rd
1998  Miles Stewart  3rd Joanne King  1st
  Bryce Quirk (Jnr)  2nd Michellie Jones 2nd
  Levi Maxwell (Jnr)  3rd Nicole Hackett (Jnr)  1st
      Rebeka Keat (Jnr)  2nd
1999 Miles Stewart  3rd Loretta Harrop  1st
  Courtney Atkinson (Jnr) 1st Jackie Gallagher  2nd
      Emma Carney  3rd
      Josie Loane  3rd
2000 Peter Robertson  2nd Nicole Hackett  1st
  Craig Walton  3rd Michellie Jones  2nd
      Melanie Mitchell (Jnr) 2nd
2001 Peter Robertson  1st Michellie Jones  2nd
  Chris Hill  2nd    
  Luke McKenzie (Jnr)  3rd    
2002 Peter Robertson  2nd  Mirinda Carfrae (U23) 2nd
  Brad Kahlefeldt (U23)  1st    
2003 Peter Robertson  1st Emma Snowsill  1st
  Nick Hornman (U23)  2nd Michellie Jones  3rd
      Nikki Egyed (U23)  1st
      Mirinda Carfrae (U23)   2nd
      Felicity Abram (Jnr)  1st
      Maxine Seear (Jnr) 2nd
2004     Loretta Harrop  2nd
      Annabel Luxford (U23)  1st
2005 Peter Robertson  1st Emma Snowsill  1st
  Brad Kahlefeldt  3rd Annabel Luxford  2nd
      Melanie Sexton (Jnr) 3rd
2006 Nathan Campbell (U23)   2nd Emma Snowsill  1st
  Daniel Wilson (U23)  3rd Felicity Abram  3rd
      Erin Densham (U23)  1st
      Emma Moffatt (U23) 2nd
2007 Brad Kahlefeldt  3rd Emma Snowsill  2nd
  Brendan Sexton (U23)  2nd Ashleigh Gentle (Jnr) 2nd
2008     Ashleigh Gentle (Jnr)  2nd
2009 James Seear (U23) 2nd Emma Moffatt 1st
    Emma Jackson (Jnr) 2nd
 2010 Brad Kahlefeldt 3rd Emma Moffatt 1st
Emma Jackson (U23) 1st
  Ashleigh Gentle (Jnr) 1st
2011     Ashlee Bailie (Jnr) 2nd
2012 Aaron Royle (U23)  1st    
2013 Declan Wilson (U23)  3rd Emma Moffatt  3rd
  Charlotte McShane (U23) 1st
2014 Jacob Birtwhistle (Jnr)  2nd Gillian Backhouse (U23) 2nd
  Calvin Quirk (Jnr) 3rd  Sally Pilbeam (PT3) 1st
 2015 Jacob Birtwhistle (U23) 1st     
 2016     Charlotte Mcshane 3rd


In 2009, the ITU World Championships became a series of eight races in eight different countries rather than a stand alone event.


australians at itu duathlon, aquathlon and long distance world championships

Duathlon World Championships
   MEN Place  WOMEN Place 
1992   Jenny Alcorn 1st
1993 Greg Welch 1st    
Andrew Noble
Lee Mounster (Jnr) 
Jackie Gallagher  3rd
Andrew Noble
Tim Bentley 
Jackie Gallagher
Jonathan Hall
Michelle Dillon
Rebekah Keat (Jnr)
1998 Andrew Noble  3rd    
1999     Jackie Gallagher
Emma Carney 
2003 Jonathan Hall  2nd    
2006 Leon Griffen  1st Sarah Roy (U23)  3rd
2012     Felicity Sheedy-Ryan  1st
2014 Jacob Birtwhistle (Jnr) 1st Gillian Backhouse (U23) 1st
2015  Luke Willian (Jnr)  2nd      
2016     Annelise Jeffries (U23) 1st

Aquathlon World Championships 
  MEN Place  WOMEN Place 
1998 Craig Alexander


Rina Hill
Nicole Hackett
Melanie Mitchell 
1999  Levi Maxwell
Rina Hill
Nicole Hackett 
2000 Brad Kahlefeldt  2nd Pip Taylor  3rd
2009 Adam Carlton  1st  Ellie Salthouse (Jnr)  1st 
  3rd Maxine Seear  2nd
 2016     Elle Leahy (Jnr)  1st


Long Distance World Championships 
  MEN Place  WOMEN Place 
1996 Greg Welch  1st    
1998     Rina Hill  1st
1999     Joanne King  2nd
2005     Mirinda Carfrae  2nd
2006 Craig Alexander  2nd    
2009     Rebehak Keat  2nd
2011 Joe Gambles  2nd    
2012 Chris McCormack  1st    
2013     Melissa Hauschildt  1st



australians at Ironman and 70.3 world championships

Ironman World Champions     70.3 World Championships 
Greg Welch 1994  
  Michellie Jones 2006 Craig Alexander  
Chris McCormack   2007   Mirinda Carfrae
Craig Alexander   2008    
Craig Alexander   2009    
Chris McCormack Mirinda Carfrae 2010    
Craig Alexander    2011 Craig Alexander Melissa Rollison
Pete Jacobs    2012    
  Mirinda Carfrae  2013   Melissa Hauschildt 
  Mirinda Carfrae 2014    
     2016 Tim Reed