> Home Page > State Associations > NSW > About Us > Latest News > Glenn Schwarzel elected as the new President of Triathlon NSW

Glenn Schwarzel elected as the new President of Triathlon NSW


Glenn Schwarzel has been elected by the Board as the new President of Triathlon NSW.

Glenn replaces Lucy Burgmann who has stepped down as President but will remain on the Board as an Interested Director.

“I am honoured to have been selected for this role. I hope we can do our best to represent the interests of all of our members and their clubs,” Glenn said.

“I would also like to see us look to the future by providing opportunities for the development and education of our junior members”.

Glenn became interested in Triathlon back in 1991 doing the run leg for a team at the Noosa Triathlon.  He’s since completed 25 Noosa’s as an individual competitor. He’s also competed in several standard distance World Championships and two Cross Tri World Championships.

Glenn is the President and a Life Member of the Macarthur Triathlon Club and has been on the Board of Triathlon NSW since 2008, formerly in the role of Vice President. He has also been a member of the Finance and Audit Committee since its inception.

He was the Race Director for the Sydney Triathlon Series and the All Women’s Triathlon in 2010/11 and has been the swim manager and race starter for all the NSW Club Championship races held at Forster.

“My involvement in triathlon seems to have grown year on year” Glenn said. In 2010 he successfully obtained a significant grant to design and build a new triathlon facility in Sydney’s South West.

Corporately Glenn held various administrative, accounting, auditing and key client manager roles as a Senior Executive Officer in the Australian Public Service. Glenn retired four years ago.

“I would personally like to thank outgoing President Lucy Burgmann for doing an outstanding job and in doing so taking the role of President to a new level.”

Triathlon NSW welcomes David Hunter (Orange Triathlon Club) to the role of Vice President and thanks Lucy Burgmann for her tenure as President.

CLICK HERE to see the full Triathlon NSW Board in detail.

forager logo  Billigence Logo
99 Bikes Logo

Palladium Logo 
Scody Logo TNSW 2

new 21.22 banner