Drew Box kicks off ITU season in Cape Town


Drew Box kicks off ITU season in Cape Town

Drew Box 

Photo Cred: ITU

Brisbane based Drew Box is our only Australian to line up at this weekend's ITU World Cup race in Cape Town, South Africa. 

 

The Cape Town race kicks off the 2017 ITU racing season, with the second race to be held in iconic Mooloolaba on Saturday March 11th.  The 17 city World Cup schedule gives athletes valuable racing experience and the opportunity to earn points for ranking to qualify to enter World Triathlon Series events.

 
The Cape Town race will be a Sprint Distance format (750m/20km/5km) event, and sees a strong start list with Rio bronze medalist Henri Schoeman and Rio 4th place athlete Richard Murray lining up in the men's race.  Drew Box, who podiumed twice last season over the Standard Distance in World Cup events will be looking to dominate in the shorter format event.

 

In the women's race triple Olympian Ai Ueda with 173 starts to her name is expected to dominate the field of 31 athletes.

 

While the mens and womens races will not be broadcast on triathlonlive.tv, updates will be available through www.triathlon.org/live or  on Twitter @triathlonlive

 

Start times:  Saturday February 11th Women 1.45pm Cape Town time (9.45pm Brisbane time),  Men 3.30pm Cape Town (11.30pm Brisbane time)

 

  

Sign up for the latest news



TQ Partners Oct 18

Associations

Triathlon Australia
Triathlon ACT
Triathlon NSW
Triathlon NT
Triathlon SA
Triathlon TAS
Triathlon VIC
Triathlon WA