AusTriathlon Awards 2023: Champions Crowned and Legends Honoured

20 Nov 2023

Photo Credit: Bec Ohlwein

The RACV Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast played host to the 2023 AusTriathlon Awards on Sunday evening, where the triathlon community gathered to celebrate the champions of the sport and recognise outstanding achievements from across the year.

The evening was graced by the presence of many of triathlon’s greatest legends and contributors, creating an atmosphere of camaraderie and shared accomplishment.

The evening kicked off with an acknowledgement of the remarkable achievements of the World Champions.

Among those recognised was once again Lauren Parker, who triumphed as the World Triathlon Paratriathlon Champion for the fourth time. Sophie Linn was recognised as the first Australian to clinch the title of 2023 Esports Triathlon World Champion, alongside seven Australian Age Group World Champions – Phoebe Kelly, John Allen, Nicholas Katsilis, Margo Mackintosh, Penelope Nevill, Hannah-Lee Young, Ana Oerte.

The Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete Award went to Brad Course, recognising his promise and potential as he emerges onto the World Triathlon racing circuit. He joins a prestigious list of winners that includes athletes like Erin Densham, Brendan Sexton, Aaron Royle, Ashleigh Gentle, Jake Birtwhistle, Lauren Parker and Matt Hauser

Outstanding performances during the 2023 season were acknowledged with the Performance of the Year Awards.

Lauren Parker’s extraordinary performances secured her the well-deserved Paratriathlon Female Performance of the Year accolade for the fourth year straight, while Justin Godfrey took the title of Paratriathlon Male Performance of the Year.

Ashleigh Gentle’s stellar season saw her as the recipient of the Individual Female Performance of the Year, while Matt Hauser earned him the honour of Individual Male Performance of the Year for the third year in a row.

Gentle was also honoured as the Athlete’s Athlete of the Year, a recognition voted on by her fellow triathletes.

The recipients of the Rob George Award were Kirrily Guinan and Sue Horsburgh, recognised for their invaluable contributions to the Technical Program in their home states, while Lyndell Murray and Michael Haarsma were honoured with the John Ison Award paying tribute to their outstanding contributions to the technical facets of the sport.

James Thorp and Michael Pratt were awarded Age Group Coach of the Year, while Ben Bell was acknowledged with the Pathways Coach Recognition Award. Dan Atkins clinched the High Performance Coach Award for the third season straight, a testament to his outstanding coaching achievements at the international level.

Robyn Stanley, Melissa Ashton-Garard, and Brian Hinton received the Services to the Sport Award for their significant contributions that positively promoted multisport, enhancing public and commercial interest in triathlon.

Robyn Stanley, a dedicated figure in triathlon for nearly three decades, left an indelible mark on NT Triathlon and the Darwin Triathlon Club through her exemplary roles in administration and leadership, earning Life Membership and a legacy of selfless service.

Melissa Ashton-Garard, a former professional triathlete, seamlessly transitioned into leadership roles, has left a lasting impact on AusTriathlon as Chair of the Elite Selection Committee and contributed significantly to athlete advocacy.

Brian Hinton’s 35-year dedication to triathlon includes key roles in AusTriathlon and VIC Triathlon, earning him prestigious Life Memberships for both.

The Legend of the Sport Award was bestowed upon Kate Major, Courtney Atkinson, and Janet Ferguson, recognising their superior achievements and the lasting impact they’ve made on the sport of triathlon in Australia and worldwide.

Kate Major, a World Champion at age group level at the 2002 World Championships, continued her podium success at the IRONMAN Australia event. As a professional, she secured bronze at the IRONMAN World Championships in 2004, 2005, and 2007, leaving an indelible mark on the sport.

Courtney Atkinson, a two-time Olympic representative, showcased his talent at the Beijing and London Games and consistently demonstrated his prowess with seven World Cup victories and 16 podium finishes. Dominating the Noosa Triathlon for three consecutive years from 2008 to 2010, he cemented his legendary status in triathlon.

Janet Ferguson, a two-time World Champion at the age group level, represented Australia twelve times, earning an impressive eight podium finishes. Her enduring commitment to excellence makes her a true legend in the world of triathlon.

2023 AusTriathlon Award Winners:

AusTriathlon Hall of Fame Inductee:
Chris McCormack

Legend of the Sport Award:
Kate Major
Courtney Atkinson
Janet Ferguson

Services to the Sport Award:
Robyn Stanley
Melissa Ashton-Garard
Brian Hinton

Age Group Coach of the Year:
James Thorp & Michael Pratt

Pathways Coach Recognition:
Ben Bell

High Performance Coach Award:
Dan Atkins

Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete Award:
Brad Course

Performance of the Year Awards:
Paratriathlon Male: Justin Godfrey
Paratriathlon Female: Lauren Parker
Individual Female : Ashleigh Gentle
Individual Male: Matt Hauser

Athlete’s Athlete of the Year:
Ashleigh Gentle

Rob George Award:
Kirrily Guinan & Sue Horsburgh

John Ison Award:
Lyndell Murray & Michael Haarsma

Related Posts