Elite Selection Committee welcomes Dr. Daniel Wilson & Patrick Murphy OLY

23 Jan 2024

AusTriathlon is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Daniel Wilson and Patrick Murphy OLY to the Elite Selection Committee (ESC) following the release of revised Terms of Reference. 

The revised Terms of Reference expands the ESC’s capacity, now accommodating a membership of three to five members, an increase from the previous one to three members. 

Wilson, a retired triathlete, represented Australia at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. He competed for Australia from 2004 to 2016 with notable results including victory at the 2010 World Triathlon Cup in Tongyeong and securing a bronze medal at the 2006 Under 23 World Championships in Lausanne.  

Since retiring from the sport, Wilson has earned a Doctorate in Philosophy from Griffith University and holds a Bachelor of Applied Science and a Bachelor of Behavioural Science from Queensland University of Technology. He currently practices as a clinical psychologist. 

Murphy, a retired swimmer, represented Australia at both the Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 Olympic Games. His illustrious career includes dual Olympic bronze medals at the Beijing 2008 Olympics.  

He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Deakin University and boasts extensive experience on various sports governing body committees. His involvement includes roles on the World Aquatics Athletes Committee, Swimming Australia High Performance Committee, and he currently serves on the Swimming Australia Audit & Risk Committee. 

The pair will join existing ESC members Annabel Luxford (Chair), Michellie Jones OLY, Dr. Darren Smith, Dr. Sarah Butcher and Daniel Mangano (General Manger Performance). 

The Elite Selection Committee is responsible for the selection of Elite, Para, Under 23, Junior AusTriathlon teams in accordance with the sport’s selection policies.   

This includes World Triathlon Championship Series events, World Triathlon Para Series events, World Triathlon World Championship events, Olympic Games and Paralympic Games. 

AusTriathlon President, Michelle Cooper, expressed her enthusiasm for the latest appointments to the Committee. 

“We’re delighted to welcome Daniel Wilson and Patrick Murphy to the Elite Selection Committee,” Cooper said. 

“Their wealth of experience, both as accomplished athletes and in their respective fields beyond sports, will undoubtedly enrich the Committee’s discussions and decisions. 

“In an Olympic and Paralympic year, expanding the Committee’s capacity will increase the breadth of expertise and skills amongst the group, further supporting the delivery of fair selection processes and outcomes.” 

Additional revisions to the Terms of Reference for the Elite Selection Committee include an adjustment to the term structure. Committee members will now be appointed for an initial two-year period, with the potential for two additional one-year extensions at the discretion of the AusTriathlon Board. This replaces the previous system, which allowed for only one potential one-year extension. 

To view the ESC Terms of Reference, click here. 

Related Posts